Arkansas Government

The Arkansas Government is the governing body of the state of Arkansas. The Government of Arkansas has three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial. These consist of the governor of Arkansas, the Arkansas General Assembly, and the Arkansas Supreme Court and Court of Appeals. The Constitution of Arkansas provides for a separation of powers and responsibilities between these three branches of government.

arkansas government

The executive branch is headed by the governor, who is Arkansas’s chief executive officer. The Governor is elected to a four-year term and can serve up to two terms in office. The Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Treasurer, Auditor, and Attorney General are also part of the executive branch. They are all elected to four-year terms and can serve up to two terms in office.

The legislative branch consists of the Arkansas General Assembly, which is made up of the House of Representatives and the Senate. The General Assembly convenes every January to pass laws. The Governor has veto power over legislation, but the legislature can override his veto with a two-thirds vote in both chambers.

The judicial branch consists of the Arkansas Supreme Court and the Arkansas Court of Appeals. The Supreme Court is the court of last resort in Arkansas. It is composed of a chief justice and eight associate justices, all of whom are appointed by the governor to serve eight-year terms. It hears appeals from lower courts and makes decisions on cases that could set precedent for future cases.

Arkansas is divided into 75 counties, each governed by an elected county judge who serves as the chief executive officer of the county. Arkansas has two types of incorporated municipalities: cities and towns. Arkansas has several different types of unincorporated municipalities: townships, special districts, and clusters of unincorporated communities.

The Arkansas Constitution does not grant local governments any inherent powers; rather, it gives them only those powers specifically granted by the legislature. However, local governments have been granted a wide range of powers, including the power to levy taxes, issue bonds, and adopt ordinances.

Government of Arkansas State

Official Name: Arkansas

Governor: Asa Hutchinson

Main Address: State Capitol Room 250
500 Woodlane Ave.
Little Rock, AR, 72201

Phone Number: 501-682-2345

Arkansas State Agencies

Attorney General

Consumer Protection Offices

Corrections Department

Education Department

Emergency Management Agency

Election Office

Motor Vehicle Offices

Surplus Property Sales

Travel and Tourism

Social Services